For theatre... online, non-professional, amateur
YOUR NEWS – Smile Please!

YOUR NEWS – Smile Please!


The 2021 bursery scheme from the Association of Professional Headshot Photographers supports emerging talent from drama schools across the country.
Entering its 5th year The APHP Headshot Bursary is a major, annual, charitable initiative run by non-profit organisation, which is now open for 2021’s nominations.
The scheme donates a headshot session with an APHP-qualified photographer to a student at each of over twenty major UK drama schools, with each student being nominated by their school.
APHP photographers work with hundreds of UK drama students each year, and the scheme allows the APHP to contribute to the success of emerging actors across the UK at a vital stage of their training.
The following students were the recipients of the 2020 bursary. The first nine have now completed their socially distanced Covid-19 compliant studio shoots and their photographers are noted in brackets. The rest will be completed after restrictions are lifted.

Top Row (l-r):

  • 1. Annabel Bennet (Robin Savage), Fourth Monkey
  • 2. Ameer Aqeel (Robin Savage), Royal Birmingham Conservatoire
  • 3. Maya Elliott (Nicholas Dawkes), ArtsEd

Middle Row:

  • 4. Joshua Robinson (John Clark), Rose Bruford
  • 5. Finn Graham (Alishia Love), The Oxford School of Drama
  • 6. Ida Kummervold (Adam Hills), London Studio Centre

Lower Row:

  • 7. Charlotte Ayers (Tom Barker), The Academy of Live & Recorded Arts
  • 8. Erwan Hughes (Kim Hardy), Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • 9. Rachel Ellen (Michael Wharley), Royal Central School of Speech and Drama


  • Conor McLeod, Guildhall School of Music and Drama
  • Lena Robin, Drama Studio London
  • Marco Voli, London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art
  • Tia Jackson Owens, London College of Music
  • Jessica Elsie Dunn, Drama Centre London

Financial need: although this is not a hardship bursary, the question is asked that students in need are given first consideration.
Performance excellence: exemplary displays of acting ability during the year.
High academic achievement: superb performance in the written and reflective aspects of training.
Awards are announced throughout the year, according to each school’s timetable, and are published in full on the APHP website by the end of December 2021.