For theatre... online, non-professional, amateur
YOUR NEWS – Smile Please!

YOUR NEWS – Smile Please!


The 2021 bursery scheme from the Association of Professional Headshot Photographers supports emerging talent from drama schools across the country.
Entering its 5th year The APHP Headshot Bursary is a major, annual, charitable initiative run by non-profit organisation, which is now open for 2021’s nominations.
The scheme donates a headshot session with an APHP-qualified photographer to a student at each of over twenty major UK drama schools, with each student being nominated by their school.
APHP photographers work with hundreds of UK drama students each year, and the scheme allows the APHP to contribute to the success of emerging actors across the UK at a vital stage of their training.
The following students were the recipients of the 2020 bursary. The first nine have now completed their socially distanced Covid-19 compliant studio shoots and their photographers are noted in brackets. The rest will be completed after restrictions are lifted.

Top Row (l-r):

  • 1. Annabel Bennet (Robin Savage), Fourth Monkey
  • 2. Ameer Aqeel (Robin Savage), Royal Birmingham Conservatoire
  • 3. Maya Elliott (Nicholas Dawkes), ArtsEd

Middle Row:

  • 4. Joshua Robinson (John Clark), Rose Bruford
  • 5. Finn Graham (Alishia Love), The Oxford School of Drama
  • 6. Ida Kummervold (Adam Hills), London Studio Centre

Lower Row:

  • 7. Charlotte Ayers (Tom Barker), The Academy of Live & Recorded Arts
  • 8. Erwan Hughes (Kim Hardy), Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • 9. Rachel Ellen (Michael Wharley), Royal Central School of Speech and Drama


  • Conor McLeod, Guildhall School of Music and Drama
  • Lena Robin, Drama Studio London
  • Marco Voli, London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art
  • Tia Jackson Owens, London College of Music
  • Jessica Elsie Dunn, Drama Centre London

Financial need: although this is not a hardship bursary, the question is asked that students in need are given first consideration.
Performance excellence: exemplary displays of acting ability during the year.
High academic achievement: superb performance in the written and reflective aspects of training.
Awards are announced throughout the year, according to each school’s timetable, and are published in full on the APHP website by the end of December 2021.

Could You Take the Theatre Photograph of the Year? (Your News)

Could You Take the Theatre Photograph of the Year? (Your News)

By Paul Johnson

Open to amateur and professional photographers alike, Theatres Trust launches launches a new photography competition to celebrate the UK’s glorious theatre buildings and the magic that happens inside them.

Celebrated choreographer and director Matthew Bourne, comedian and actress Miranda Hart and actor Jude Law, all Ambassadors for the Theatres Trust, will be part of the judging panel.
Miranda Hart told Sardines: “Theatre continues to transform me into a childlike state of awe and wonder and I am never freer and happier watching it or making it. So to have the Theatres Trust Photograph of the Year competition as a way to find great talent to capture, curate and celebrate the majesty that is theatre is a wonderful thing. It will be hard not to want to pick them all!”

Open to amateur and professional photographers alike, entries are invited across three categories:

Beautiful buildings:

Highlighting the wonderful architecture of theatre buildings, old or modern, small or grand. This could be the exterior of a building, an inside space or a particular design detail.

Connecting communities:

Celebrating how theatres are central to their communities. This could be a theatre shown as part of its local area or how the theatre brings people together.

Entertaining evenings:

Capturing the joy of going to the theatre. This could be the excitement of a performance or a lively bar / café before a show. Matinee photos are welcome too!

From the category winners, one image will be chosen as the overall Theatre Photograph of the Year.

There is also a special category for younger budding photographers – the Young Theatre Photographer of the Year prize is open to anyone aged 16 or under.

Entrants are also being asked to provide the story behind their photos, whether that is their special connection with the theatre depicted or what the image says to them.

As well as the glory of winning the competition, there are also prizes, courtesy of Theatre Tokens. Each category winner and the Young Theatre Photographer of the Year will win £250 worth of Theatre Tokens, which can be spent in more than 250 theatres across the country. The overall winner will receive an additional £250 of Theatre Tokens.

Photographs must be of a UK theatre and must have been taken within the twelve months prior to the competition closing date.

The competition is open for online entries now with a deadline of 30 March 2020 for submissions.
To enter, you need to visit (where further terms and conditions can also be found):

Judging will take place in April with a shortlist announced in the spring, followed by the winners later in 2020.

The initiative has the backing of the UK’s major theatre operators including Ambassadors Theatre Group, Delfont Mackintosh Theatres, HQ Theatres and LW Theatres – who will promote it to their audiences. Other theatres are encouraged to get in touch with the Theatres Trust if they want to support the competition too.